Green Beaver Deodorant

greenbeavercitrus

My latest deodorant conquest is Green Beaver’s natural deodorant in the scent Citrus. I tend to shy away from lemon scented cosmetics because of the common use of lemon scents in cleaning products but this deodorant really smells like delicious lemon sorbet. I smelled all the scents available: lavender, citrus, tea tree, wild rose and vetiver, and citrus won hands down. Oddly enough no “claims” are made on the packaging of this product. By claims I mean things like “blocks odor for 24 hours straight” or “leaves no marks on clothing”. Here are the things it does claim:

  • Aluminium free
  • Paraben free
  • Propylene Glycol free
  • Vegan
  • Non-gmo
  • Not tested on animals

But how did it perform?

closeup

I’ve been using this for three weeks now. I actually purchased it back in May (for $8 Canadian), and held off on using it until I went to Texas for a weekend. I figured Texas heat would be the ultimate deodorant test. I wore it in Texas for three days, Friday, Saturday and Sunday in temperatures above 30 degrees celsius each day and… it didn’t work! Not a hint of citrus left even just two hours after application, and even worse is that you can smell the perspiration. I would’ve loved this product even if the citrus scent didn’t linger, if only it prevented further smell!

I’m so disappointed because I wanted to love this product! The label design of all their products is absolutely beautiful and they are actually free of aluminium. And for those of you out there who are vegan/cruelty free, these products are vegan, GMO-free and not tested on animals! But what’s the use of all that if they don’t work!?

One comment

Leave a comment