Anya Circle Skirt

skirt4

This is the Anya Skirt. I made it to wear to a country wedding on what was possibly the hottest day of the summer (45 degrees with humidex, yikes!) I know it’s a bit silly to purchase a circle skirt pattern, but the pattern came with wonderful instructions which helped through every step of the construction, and I was very keen on inserting a zipper which went all the way to the top of the waistband. The fabric is an unknown blend that was on clearance at my local fabric store.

skirt2

The hardest part was attaching the zipper. Since I used my new (to me) singer 401, I didn’t have an invisible zipper foot. I nearly went crazy trying to install the zipper. The zipper kept curling into a C shape when I tried to iron the teeth (which you are supposed to do for invisible zippers). I finally went for a method that I think will work better than some of the tutorials I tried without success:

  1. I hand basted the zipper into place
  2. I ironed the teeth outwards: with the zipper basted into place the zipper didn’t curl on me
  3. I stitched as close to the teeth as possible, slowly

In the end my undoing was the waistband finishing: I sewed too close to the teeth and couldn’t pull the zipper up all the way. I ran out of time before the wedding so I sewed a hook and eye on the drive to the wedding! (Too bad the car ride wasn’t longer, I would’ve taken in the straps of the crop top as well!)

And surprisingly, the hem was really, really, really, truly, very easy! I followed a popular tip to sew 1/4” from the edge of the fabric, fold up along that edge, and fold up again. Then I stitched it down! That’s it!

I unfortunately didn’t get any pictures during the wedding day, it was so humid and hot that my camera lens fogged up immediately when I took it outside! Thankfully the couple’s photographer was able to get some beautiful photos for them despite the weather!

I have to say I will definitely be wearing a circle skirt to another wedding, it so much fun on the dance floor when spinning around! I even wore some matching hot pink shorts underneath for when the skirt flew up!

skirt1

One comment

Leave a Reply

