The Road goes ever on and on…

LOTRupdate

The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say.

I hope you can see the effect I was going for in the photo above. I wanted the scarf to look a little bit like a road going off into the distance. Since my photography skills are lacking, you will just have to trust me when I say this definitely feels like a long road!

Perhaps you remember this post about my previous failures with the scarf. I casted on again, this time with 3 mm dpns, and away I went! Only, it didn’t go so smoothly…

You know, the progression of the scarf kind of reminds me of both the lord of the rings trilogy and the hobbit! In both books(/trilogy), theoretically the deed should be accomplished with a whole lot of walking and little action (if Tolkien was a boring author). Fortunately for the books(/trilogy), Tolkien is quite exciting… unfortunately my knitting was also “quite exciting”. My biggest problem was laddering. I only noticed the terrible laddering halfway through the tree of gondor chart, and so I kept pulling tighter and tighter at the junction of my needles. I couldn’t understand why I had laddering all of a sudden. I’ve knitted two pairs of mittens, three socks (not a pair… 3 individual socks), countless dolls and little knitted animal things as well as in the round swatches and I have never had laddering.

At first I attributed it to the intarsia/stranded knitting in the round. I had needle junctions at colour changes and those are pretty hard to keep tight. Until I pulled my needle junction so tight that I actually ripped my single ply briggs and little yarn and had to go back to get enough yarn to make a smooth join.

Of course I would love to tell you about the countless hours I stared at my laddering, trying to figure out why this was happening to me (of course these hours were also spent knitting… so much so that by the time I actually figured out what was causing the gaping ladders, I didn’t want to rip back because Christmas was around the corner and I knew I would never get it done if I went back… spoiler: I didn’t get it done in time for Christmas anyways… more spoilers: it’s still not done!).

So, do you want to know why my knitting on dpns laddered all of a sudden?

It had everything to do with needle position. For some reason, I had been knitting everything before with the needle-stitches-are-being-knitted-off-of underneath the needle-that-stitches-have-just-been-finished-to-be-knit-off-of, and for another inexplicable reason, I decided to knit this entire project the opposite way, that is, always knitting the next needle ABOVE the old needle, effectively always having the width of the old needle in between the new stitch and the old stitch! How could I not think of that!!!

Leave a Reply

